Time flies

As I type this, I’m watching Home Alone 2. Which is weird because it still feels like September. And anyone who knows me even a little bit knows I don’t officially start doing anything Christmas-related until November 1, so watching this movie actually makes sense because, in the real world, it’s almost December.

The past month and a half has been filled with many ups, many downs and not too many in-betweens. Tonight is the first night (literally) since the middle of October that I’ve had no plans on a single day, and that’s only because the plans I did have fell through. I’m not complaining — the past little while has held the theme of deepening relationship with all the people around me. Maybe it’s a sign that these new relationships, and the strengthened older ones, are here to stay for a long time. That’s how it feels. Like I’ve been unintentionally busy with all these friends and family because they’re helping me get through those lows I talked about earlier, and just making the highs higher.

Lately I’m realizing more than ever that, no matter what, day in and day out, time will pass and it pauses for nothing. Time will move on no matter what I do, so I might as well make the most of my daily average moments. When it feels like a day will never end, I can remember that it actually will. Duh, Leanne. But really. Life can be hard and I need to remember I’ll never be stuck anywhere for too long, especially if I’m putting in the effort to move forward. But with this comes the feeling of all days meshing into one big long blurry day. And who wants to remember that? Not me. So I’ve also found it helpful to remember the highlights of a week after it passes to remain content and thankful and in a good place as much as I can.

Some of those highlights this month were in October, when my good friend Jordan and her fiancé Andrew tied the knot. Tim and I were lucky enough to be there for their whole celebration and it was such a classy, comfortable, beautiful time. You could just see how meant-to-be those two are, which is exactly how a wedding should be. Jordan and I spent one summer working at an engineering company together, so seeing her out of our daily duties and in the jaw-dropper that was her wedding dress was something I’ll remember for a long, long time.

Another thing that has changed a lot lately is my relationships with a group of people from my church. Every two weeks, a big group of us meet at a couple’s house for dinner to eat (our faces off), play cards (to the death) and just get to know each other better. The second I walk out the door on those Sunday nights I’m already looking forward to the next one. Some of the people there have graced me with crepe days on a monthly basis, too. A group of us get together to hang out in the morning on a weekend and make crepes. Pretty simple, but I wouldn’t trade those times for anything. It’s rare you can laugh that hard and be that real with people and still want to see them again as much as possible! Ha. Let’s hope they feel the same about me.

Getting closer to Tim’s family has been a huge plus this fall. I spent Thanksgiving with them and it was one of the best I’ve ever had. A group of us are all around the same age and it makes hanging out at family events something I think I’ll actually start looking forward to, since I’ve always just been the youngest amongst a lot of “adults”! Also, Nevaeh really is the life of the party at these things and you can never have a dull moment when she’s there. I feel I’ve been getting to know their family so much better lately and I so value times to just laugh and hang out together.

I love having this little blog to come to and write and post and build community with people. (So please comment and say hi!) It’s a great tool to make non-moments into significant thoughts, rather than having them float around aimlessly in my head. I think focusing on the good is the only way to go, but the not-so-good needs to be recognized, even expected, to help with moving forward. Friends and family have reminded me lately that life really is beautiful. As always, thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Time flies

  1. Such a sweet little blog you have here. I really enjoyed reading this post and how, although it sounds like things have been a little rough lately, you’re choosing to turn your attention toward the things you are grateful for in the midst of it all.

    You’re right, life is happening around us no matter what and it’s up to us to decide how we want to join in and participate with it.

    Warmest,
    Julia Kristina
    http://juliakristina.com/blog

Comment

